WG 2: Spatial object documentation

Leader: Prof. Robert Sitnik (PL), vice-leader: Miroslav Hain (PL)

1st WG task st2.1 Identification of the main 3D scanning techniques suitable for use in CH objects
The most common 3D scanning techniques in CH digitisation are structured light, stereoscopic imaging and laser scanning, although also a number of other metrology techniques, such as time-of-flight and interferometry, provide useful information in certain environmental conditions. In this task a classification of different techniques applied to 3D scanning of CH will be given, showing conditions of its applicability, and limitations.

2nd WG task st2.2 Analysis and comparison of the different 3D scanning techniques
The actual performance of the techniques identified for different types of CH objects will be analysed in great depth based on the identified setups and available expertise. The goal is to analyse the advantages and limitations of these techniques depending on the deciding characteristics, and to stimulate new developments to address the identified drawbacks.

2015

WG2 activities performed in 2015:

  • St. Etienne meeting in March 2015;
  • Taskforce meeting and Coin Case Study meeting in Warsaw, 12 May 2015.

The WG2 discussion in St. Etienne was chaired by the WG2 vice-leader M. Hain. The draft of the WG2 presentation was prepared for the plenary presentation: „Towards future documentation techniques and multimodal 3D measurements" and presented by M. Hain to the WG2 members. First results of comparative analyses of different measuring techniques (structured light, structure from motion, micro tomography) were presented.

The discussion after the presentation focused mainly on the topics concerning "Identification of the main 3D scanning techniques suitable for use in CH objects". Many 3D scanning techniques suitable for Cultural Heritage were discussed, including methods using structured light, laser triangulation, time of flight and phase shift detection, photogrammetry, Structure from Motion, holography, computed tomography, terahertz imaging. For each method the main advantages and drawbacks were identified.

Exemplary results are presented below:

3D model based on SfM.

Visualisation of a geometry difference map of 3D models generated by µCT and SfM.


2014

WG2 activities performed in 2014:

  • Taskforce meeting in Novi Sad, 3-4 March 2014;
  • Joensuu meeting in April 2014;
  • Taskforce meeting in Brussels, 19 June 2014.

Task force meeting in Novi Sad, Serbia.

Results vs. Objectives

During all meetings WG2 discussed the topics listed below:

  1. 3D recording technologies used for cultural heritage objects;
  2. COSCHKR App development of the ontology;
  3. upcoming approved Short Term Scientific Missions (STSM); and
  4. future projects and networking.

Conclusions from Brussels meeting:

The outcomes of the WG2 meeting indicate the need for:

1. Assessment of WG tasks:

  • st2.1. Identification of the main 3D scanning techniques suitable for CH objects: most important techniques have been identified and structured. They are ready to be implemented into the COSCHKR ontology;
  • st2.2. Analysis and comparison of the different 3D scanning techniques: WG2 initiated activities for numerous measurements of the same artefacts by different techniques to critically review their usefulness; also the initiated case studies support this task.

2. Development of multimodal measurements as a basis for future CH documentation solutions including:

  • surface geometry imaging: structured light or laser triangulation,
  • inner structure imaging: micro tomography or terahertz,
  • colour imaging: multispectral or hyperspectral,
  • surface structure: bi-directional reflectance distribution function (BRDF).

3. Direct support of the COSCHKR App idea:

  • creation of survey questionnaire and support through case studies,
  • structuring available 3D recording techniques.

4. Further direct support of STSMs

  • definition of important topics for WG2.

5. Organising consortia for Horizon 2020:

  • based on 3D recording techniques,
  • multimodal data handling,
  • metadata and semantics.

WG2 - Autumn Meeting 2013

Find abstract and presentation of WG2 from Autumn Meeting below:

Gerd Häusler (Institute of Optics University of Erlangen-Nuremberg):

Optical 3D-sensors in Cultural Heritage – potentials and limits (abstract / presentation).


WG2 - Spring Meeting 2013

Find abstracts and presentations of WG 2 from Spring Meeting below:

Jaroslav Valach:

Efficient technique for characterization of visual properties of surfaces (Abtsract / Presentation).

Mona Hess:

3D imaging for museum artefacts: a portable test object for heritage and museum documentation of small objects (Abstract / Presentation).

Michael Schiller, C. Teutsch, R. Mecke, Ch. Maierhofer, U. Kalisch, J. Meinhardt-Degen, Ch. Hennen:

Kombination zerstörungsfreier Prüfverfahren zur Schadensdokumentation an Baudenkmälern (Abstract / Presentation).

Tobias Reich:

3D-Recording and Documentation of CH objects and findings (Abstract / Presentation).

Lindsay MacDonald:

Visualising an Archaeological Object by 3D Colour Imaging (Abstract).

Miroslav Hain:

X-ray microtomography for 3D imaging of cultural heritage artefacts (Abstract).


Members Members

Frank Boochs
frank.boochs@fh-mainz.de
Patrick Semal
patrick.semal@naturalsciences.be
Jaroslav Valach
valach@itam.cas.cz
Ferdinand Deger
ferdinand.deger@gmail.com
Christophe Nicolle
cnicolle@u-bourgogne.fr
Yvon Voisin
yvon.voisin@u-bourgogne.fr
Bernd Breuckmann
breuckmann-3d@t-online.de
Camille Simon
csimonchane@cite-musique.fr
Karin Kraus
kraus@ifs-mainz.de
Andreas Sarakinos
rnd@hih.org.gr
Hermann Bonnici
hermann.bonnici@um.edu.mt
Robert Sitnik
r.sitnik@mchtr.pw.edu.pl
Margarida Pires
margarida.pires@fc.ul.pt
Zoran Dragoslav Ognjanovic
zorano@mi.sanu.ac.rs
Zarko Mijajlovic
zarkom@matf.bg.ac.rs
Miroslav Hain
miroslav.hain@savba.sk
Santiago Royo
santiago.royo@upc.edu
Francisco Miguel Martinez-Verdú
verdu@ua.es
Kirk Martinez
Vojko Pogacar
vojko.pogacar@um.si
Dirk Rieke-Zapp
dirk.rieke-zapp@breuckmann.com
Ansgar Brunn
ansgar.brunn@fhws.de
Markus Gerke
m.gerke@utwente.nl
Robert Shaw
robert@discoveryprogramme.ie
Haida Liang
haida.liang@ntu.ac.uk
Susanne Krömker
kroemker@iwr.uni-heidelberg.de
Zina Ruzdic
zruzdic@gmail.com
Celeste Chudyk
celeste.chudyk@geoinform.fh-mainz.de
Waldemar Kisser
waldemar.kisser@hs-mainz.de
Guido Heinz
heinz@rgzm.de
Mona Hess
m.hess@ucl.ac.uk
Stefanie Wefers
stefanie.wefers@hs-mainz.de
Jakub Krzesłowski
j.krzeslowski@mchtr.pw.edu.pl
Miguel Ares Rodriguez
miguel.ares@oo.upc.edu
Nikas Nikolaos
nikasnikolas@gmail.com
Aurore Mathys
aurore.mathys@africamuseum.be
Nicole Bruhn
nicole.bruhn@geoinform.fh-mainz.de
Fulvio Rinaudo
d001821@polito.it
Anestis Koutsoudis
akoutsou@ipet.gr
Andrej Cupar
andrej.cupar@gmail.com
Ann-Kathrin Wiemann
ann-kathrin.wiemann@students.fh-mainz.de
Tatiana Mendes Vitorino
tatianamfv@gmail.com
Fabian Friederich
fabian.friederich@ipm.fraunhofer.de
Christos Stentoumis
cstent@mail.ntua.gr
Julien Guery
guery.julien@orange.fr
Irina Mihaela Ciortan
irina.ciortan@gmail.com
Tiziana Lombardo
tiziana.lombardo@snm.admin.ch
Diego Gonzalez-Aguilera
daguilera@usal.es
Vera Moitinho de Almeida
veramoitinho@gmail.com
Jose Antonio Dominguez Torrado
joseantonio.dominguez.torrado@gmail.com