WG 3: Algorithms and procedures

Leader: Prof. Alain Trémeau (FR), vice-leader: Dr. Orla Murphy (IE)

1st WG task st3.1.Registration processes (acquisition,filtering and view integration)
Optical systems provide data for one field of view.As objects in general have to be monitored using many views, techniques are needed to merge individual views. Traditional techniques have physical impact on the surface, which is unacceptable for most CH objects. It is therefore necessary to identify, evaluate and classify available techniques for fusion of views.

2nd WG task st3.2 Integration of multi-sensor data
Optical techniques for CH applications are contactless and carry certain information content, based on the interaction between light and surface. This interaction depends on the wavelength and the sensor used. Thus, information content can be extended by use of different instruments with varying spectral characteristics. A number of integrating steps are required, which have to be categorised and classified.

3rd WG task st3.3 data access and formats
Measured data provide valuable content which shouldbe stored and made available to anyone using it for CH applications. However, due to characteristics introduced by the vendors of instruments or software there exist huge barriers to easy access. This situation has to be addressed and remedied, especially in interdisciplinary and multi-sensoral working fields.

2015

WG3 activities performed in 2015

Organisation of the COSCH Training School on "Heterogeneous visual data fusion techniques – acquisition and algorithms" in Szeged, Hungary, 7-9 December 2015.

The main objective of this Training School is to give an overview of current techniques (algorithms and complete processing chains) for transforming heterogeneous visual information into a common coordinate system in order to fuse acquired 3D and 2D data of CH objects into a coherent format which can be visualised or further analysed. Most of the topics which will be addressed are accompanied by appropriate open source code examples and explained on real life use cases.

This Training School seeks to establish a common understanding between engineers and CH experts working together on spectral and spatial data of CH objects. The basics of spectral and spatial data processing and fusion will be conveyed.


3D reconstruction of buildings based on fusion of heterogeneous data.

Meetings:

  • Cluj-Napoca, Romania, 18 September 2015 (5th Task force meeting)
  • Budapest, Hungary, 10 April 2015 (4th Task force meeting)
  • Saint-Etienne, France, 27 March 2015 (WG3 meeting)
  • Cork, Ireland, 13 February 2015 (3rd Task force meeting)

In connection with the COSCH MoU Objective PT4, WG3 addressed the following points:

a. Check if the structure of the COSCHKR knowledge schema is well adapted to describe the knowledge of all case studies supported by COSCH. The objective is to enrich this ontology from expert views.

b. Contribute to enrich the rules identified by adding new rules between classes and by improving the first rules identified. The idea was to exploit knowledge extracted from a literature review of papers related to different cultural heritage domains.

c. Contribute to enrich the rules listed in the COSCHKR knowledge schema by adding new rules related to the COSCHASM and by improving the first rules identified.

d. Document a higher number of algorithms (to enrich the COSCHASM), with a focus on some classes of algorithms (e.g. fusion of 2D colour/spectral images with 3D images – subtask 3.2) and document a higher number of common sequences of algorithms used in cultural heritage (from the case studies supported by COSCH).

e. Start to identify problems related to data access and format (PT3, st3.3).

WG3 also started to work on challenging issues related to:

  • the parameterisation process and the learning process to exploit in an optimal way the data and the knowledge structured in the COSCHASM ontology.
  • the establishment of conceptual and practical frameworks for multisensory data acquisition, its implementation, and evaluation (PT5).

STSM of Róbert Fröhlich, University of Szeged, Szeged, Hungary on "acquisition and fusion of heterogeneous data" at Université Jean Monnet, Saint-Etienne, France.


Acquisition setup for the 2D images (using one light source) and for the 3D scanning.

On 26 March 2015, the coordinator of WG3 organised in Saint-Etienne, France, a special session on "Color in Digital Cultural Heritage" (see http://cciw2015.univ-st-etienne.fr/Program-CCIW15.html).


Presentation of Lindsay MacDonald, University College London (UK) on "Representation of cultural heritage objects by image sets with directional illumination".

 


2014

In 2014, WG3 mainly worked on:

  • Registration processes (acquisition, filtering, and view integration);
  • Integration of multi-sensor data;
  • Documentation of algorithms: 22 algorithms were documented (PT3 Task st3.2). These documents address problems related to the processes of parameterisation, evaluation, learning, etc. (PT3 Task st3.1).
  • Documentation of processing chains: two processing chains were discussed and documented. These documents address problems related to the processes of parameterisation, evaluation, learning, etc.


(a) Input data (ceramic fragment).                      (b) Registration result using a calibrated standard DSLR camera.

Meetings:

  • Belgrade, Serbia, 16 September 2014 (WG3 meeting)
  • Riva del Garda, Italy, 21 June 2014 (2nd Task force meeting)
  • Joensuu, Finland, 1st April 2015 (WG3 meeting)
  • Valencia, Spain, 31 January 2014 (1st Task Force meeting)

WG3 - Autumn Meeting 2013

Find abstracts of WG 2 from Autumn Meeting below:

Martin Kampel (Vienna University of Technology):

Sensing data from ancient coins, pottery fragments and archaeological manuscripts (abstract / presentation).

José Luis Lerma (Polytechnic University of Valencia):

Photogrammetric calibration procedures for proper camera-based cultural heritage documentation (abstract / presentation).


WG3 - Spring Meeting 2013

Find abstract and presentations of WG 3 from Spring Meeting below:

Ole Grøn, Sergey V. Kucheryavskiy, Helene Burningham:

Spectral archaeological survey: Sometimes we see things, sometimes we don't. Why? (Abstract).

Camille Simon Chane, Rainer Schütze, Franck S. Marzani, Frank Boochs:

Tracking for the registration of 3D and multispectral datasets (Abstract / Presentation).

Markus Gerke, Bashar Alsadik:

Automatic image network design leading to optimal image-based 3D models. Enabling laymen to capture high quality 3D models of Cultural Heritage (Abstract / Presentation).

Susanne Krömker, Marcus Schaber:

Vertex based color correction to remove fixed highlights in 3D scans (Abstract / Presentation).

Maciej Karaszewski, Robert Sitnik, Eryk Bunsch:

Towards the automation and objectivity of 3D scanning (Abstract / Presentation).


Members Members

Frank Boochs
frank.boochs@fh-mainz.de
Ole Gron
olegron111@gmail.com
Alain Trémeau
alain.tremeau@univ-st-etienne.fr
Orla Murphy
o.murphy@ucc.ie
Jon Hardeberg
jon.hardeberg@hig.no
Robert Sitnik
r.sitnik@mchtr.pw.edu.pl
Natasa Sladoje Matic
sladoje@uns.ac.rs
Tibor Lukic
tibor@uns.ac.rs
Santiago Royo
santiago.royo@upc.edu
Francisco Miguel Martinez-Verdú
verdu@ua.es
Kirk Martinez
Ansgar Brunn
ansgar.brunn@fhws.de
Markus Gerke
m.gerke@utwente.nl
Roberto Padoan
roberto.padoan@hotmail.com
Anders Brun
anders.brun@cb.uu.se
Haida Liang
haida.liang@ntu.ac.uk
Celeste Chudyk
celeste.chudyk@geoinform.fh-mainz.de
Maciej Karaszewski
m.karaszewski@mchtr.pw.edu.pl
Juan Torres-Arjona
jta@gatv.ssr.upm.es
Stefanie Wefers
stefanie.wefers@hs-mainz.de
José Luis Lerma
jllerma@cgf.upv.es
Francesco Nex
franex@fbk.eu
Omar Gómez Lozano
omar.gomez@ua.es
Ashish Karmacharya
ashish.karmacharya@geoinform.fh-mainz.de
Nicole Bruhn
nicole.bruhn@geoinform.fh-mainz.de
Anestis Koutsoudis
akoutsou@ipet.gr
Zoltan Kato
kato@inf.u-szeged.hu
Christos Stentoumis
cstent@mail.ntua.gr
Zsolt Santa
santazs@inf.u-szeged.hu
Lazaros Grammatikopoulos
lazaros@teiath.gr
Levente Tamas
levente.tamas@aut.utcluj.ro
Allard Mees
mees@rgzm.de
Anders Hast
anders.hast@it.uu.se
Diego Gonzalez-Aguilera
daguilera@usal.es
Róbert Fröhlich
frohlich@inf.u-szeged.hu
Pierre Séroul
pseroul@newtone.fr
Riyadh Benammar
riyadh.benammar@etu.univ-st-etienne.fr
Przemyslaw Korytkowski
pkorytkowski@zut.edu.pl
Giulio Palumbi
giulio.palumbi@mom.fr
Georges Mouammar
george_muamar@hotmail.com
Shadi Shabo
shadi.shabo@gmail.com