WG 5: Visualisation of CH objects and its dissemination

Leader: Dr. Selma Rizvić (BA), vice-leader: Dr. Despoina Tsiafaki (HE)

1st WG task st5.1 Identification, planning, implementation and testing of typical applications of visualisation within CH domains CH objects can be visualised in many different waysand for different purposes. Applications range from edutainment and relatively simple presentation to the general public to accurate 3D records surveyed for specialist professional research and conservation. Each purpose bears on the quality expected from visualisation. Characteristics of the data have to be identified and the visualisation processes structured and implemented accordingly.

2nd WG task st5.2 Further development of visualization techniques
Development of innovative visualisation techniques including integration of multi-sensor data as base for enhanced exploitation of information pertaining to shape and colour, as well as other object data and metadata.

2016

Valletta Joint WG meeting in April 2016: presentation

2015

St. Etienne meeting in March

During a two-day meeting members of the WG5 presented and discussed case studies which are being developed within our group: White Bastion (see video), Silver Roman Coins, and Kantharos.


WG5 meeting in St. Etenne.

At the WG5 meeting was discussed the first draft version of the outcomes report, case studies progress and next TF meetings. The report contains first classifications of CH visualisation applications and workflows.


2014

Activities performed in 2014:

  • Task force meeting in Xanthi in February 2014
  • Joensuu meeting in April 2014
  • Task force meeting in Sarajevo in June 2014

Results vs. Objectives

In all meetings various applications of visualization within CH domains were discussed and analyzed. It was concluded that there is a significant problem of terminology, as experts from different fields often refer to the same concept with different terms. Therefore an STSM has been initiated to research this question and propose common solutions.

There was a discussion about a possibility to compare existing projects which use data sets obtained by remote sensing methods. Following up this discussion, some case studies have been proposed.

After approval of case studies WG5 will focus its work upon them in the process of achieving the scientific tasks presented in the work plan of the project.


Taskforce meeting in Xanthi.

Significant findings:

The following aspects have been set to be researched through STSMs:

  1. Definition of visualisation (e.g. as recording, documentation, dissemination)
  2. Evaluation of projects against standards
  3. Long-term preservation, management of CH visualisation projects

WG5 members have been active in preparation of proposals for Horizon 2020 calls.

WG5 members prepared several case studies proposals and submitted them to the COSCH call.

Following up the discussion on terminology, WG5 members undertook an informal brainstorming during the Joensuu meeting on the meaning of visualisation and documentation. Here are some propositions:

Visualisation

  • it is not only to see but also to extract information and filter information and ask questions
  • to experience the environment without actually being there and also to extract the information
  • to give more information and show what is important for various experts
  • registration of CH
  • visualisation depends on a particular perspective
  • visualisation aims to make CH approachable
  • to visualize something that is not visible for any reason, because it no longer exists or is hardly accessible
  • representation of everything we know and any possible source we can incorporate in visualisation
  • representation of the object of the interest - it can be existing or non-existing object

Documentation

  • saving the cultural values, safeguarding them
  • to record what is important
  • to create and to keep historical record
  • documentation is a basis for visualisation
  • it is not just what we know of subject but also record of how this visualisation was achieved
  • to have a record of all available information, including the methodology of documentation

This brief survey shows how different are perceptions of these terms coming from people of different backgrounds and expertise. It justifies our efforts in finding common definitions that will be used within the COSCHKR.

Objectives and tasks until the next meeting

The discussion between the participants resulted in determining the following elements regarding the work phases:

-           plan the STSMs for the case studies,

-           analysis of older 3D projects case studies and not only new ones,

-           necessity to use open-source software in order to maintain accessibility and longevity of CH visualisation projects,

-           collaborative STSMs could help explore the digitization and digital preservation of the CH objects.

The following future activities were identified:

  • define the visualisation pipeline
  • extend COSCHKR to cover more aspects than measurements
  • identify possible misunderstandings in key terms of visualisation and documentation
  • include the interactive virtual cultural heritage applications in COSCHKR application types
  • discuss the cost of visualisation and its purpose in preparation stage
  • submit the questionnaire for COSCHKR

WG5 - Autumn Meeting 2013

Find abstracts of WG5 from Autumn Meeting below:

Roberto Scopigno (Visual Computing Laboratory, Pisa):

Color sampling for digitized 3D models: technologies and issues (abstract / presentation).


WG5 - Spring Meeting 2013

Find abstract and presentations of WG 3 from Spring Meeting below:

Michael Zollhöfer, F. Bauer, G. Greiner, M. Boss:

Towards an objective geometrical description of antique busts (Abstract / Presentation).

Fanella G. France:

Non-Invasive Spectral Documentation of Cultural Heritage (Abstract).

Guido Heinz:

Experiences in 3D-Recording and Documentation of CH objects and findings (Abstract).

Gunnar Siedler, Sebastian Vetter:

Modern methods of documentation for conservation - digital mapping and automated 3D object documentation in software metigo® (Abstract / Presentation).

Ruven Pillay:

Remote Visualization of Extremely High Resolution Multispectral Data (Abstract).


Members Members

Frank Boochs
frank.boochs@fh-mainz.de
Selma Rizvic
srizvic@etf.unsa.ba
Aida Sadzak
Frantisek Peterka
fpet@volny.cz
Ruven Pillay
ruven@c2rmf.cnrs.fr
Hartmut Jahn
hartmut.jahn@img.fh-mainz.de
Despoina Tsiafaki
tsiafaki@ceti.gr
Andreas Sarakinos
rnd@hih.org.gr
Orla Murphy
o.murphy@ucc.ie
Marcello Picollo
m.picollo@ifac.cnr.it
Elizabeth Peacock
elizabeth.peacock@ntnu.no
Robert Sitnik
r.sitnik@mchtr.pw.edu.pl
Laila Pilgren
laila.pilgren@icp.cat
Francisco Miguel Martinez-Verdú
verdu@ua.es
Nuria Rodriguez-Ortega
nro@uma.es
Marie Woerle
marie.woerle@snm.admin.ch
Anna Bentkowska-Kafel
anna.bentkowska@kcl.ac.uk
Kirk Martinez
Matija Strlic
m.strlic@ucl.ac.uk
Dan M Stefan
danstefan00@gmail.com
Dirk Rieke-Zapp
dirk.rieke-zapp@breuckmann.com
Josep Fortuny
josep.fortuny@icp.cat
Haida Liang
haida.liang@ntu.ac.uk
Zina Ruzdic
zruzdic@gmail.com
Tobias Reich
tobias.reich@geoinform.fh-mainz.de
Juan Torres-Arjona
jta@gatv.ssr.upm.es
Stefanie Wefers
stefanie.wefers@hs-mainz.de
David Strivay
dstrivay@ulg.ac.be
Magdelena Stoyanova
magdelena.stoyanova@mail.ru
Aleksandar Valjarevic
valjarkosmos@yahoo.com
Corina Maria Nicolae
mariacorinanicolae@gmail.com
Nikas Nikolaos
nikasnikolas@gmail.com
Maria-Magdalena Stefan
m_magdalena.stefan@yahoo.com
Anke Zürn
anke@ankezuern.com
Romain Jeanneret
romain.jeanneret@he-arc.ch
Irina Wasserman
wassermn@gmail.com
Natasa Michailidou
amixaili@ipet.gr
Nicole Bruhn
nicole.bruhn@geoinform.fh-mainz.de
Mieke Pfarr-Harfst
pfarr@ika.tu-darmstadt.de
Carina Justus
carina.justus@hs-mainz.de
George Pavlidis
gpavlid@ceti.gr
Anestis Koutsoudis
akoutsou@ipet.gr
Antonio Pelegrina
antpele@gmail.com
Tatiana Mendes Vitorino
tatianamfv@gmail.com
Rafael Martín Talaverano
rmartin@urbeproorbe.com
Irina Mihaela Ciortan
irina.ciortan@gmail.com
Jose Ignacio Murillo Fragero
jimurillo@urbeproorbe.com
Tiziana Lombardo
tiziana.lombardo@snm.admin.ch
Anders Hast
anders.hast@it.uu.se
Piotr Kuroczyński
piotr.kuroczynski@herder-institut.de
Aurélie Mounier
mounieraurelie33@yahoo.fr
Horváth Tamás Iringó
horvath.iringo@rt.ubbcluj.ro